Uncategorized

A SMALL & SIMPLE HAUL: SHOCKING PIGMENTATION

A few days ago, I decided to go to the drugstore and check out any new makeup products or makeup offers. I approached the Rimmel section first and saw a box labeled ‘NEW’ with the new Provocalips 16hr Kissproof Lip Colours. I am usually attracted to darker colours, and I knew I needed a new red lip colour so I swatched the colour ‘550 Play with Fire’. I immediately liked what I saw from the pigmented swatch and decided to give it a try.

Then I moved on to the Maybelline section and saw a new promotional offer that had a foundation and the bouncy cream blush in a box for half the price of both. I had my eye on a new foundation, specifically the Matte Dream Mousse. Coincidentally it was included in the promotional offer! So I chose my foundation colour ’32 Golden’, and with it was the cream blush in ’70 Hot Tamale’. I then went to the cash register to pay. I couldnt wait to start trying out the products!
The first few things I noticed about the products when I went home were: The Rimmel lip colour was a bit transparent with the first lip application, but with the second lip application wasn’t transparent anymore. It was very drying though, so it would be best to apply lip balm, petroleum jelly, or the clear lip gloss that comes with it, on top. Secondly, I noticed that the Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse was very smooth, blendable, and had buildable coverage. It dries to a matte finish but does not feel like you are wearing foundation! It is perfect for people with combination or oily skin. It also has SPF 15 which is great when out in the sun but not so great for nights out with flash photography. Finally, the Maybelline Bouncy Blush was also easily blendable, and very pigmented! The blush gives you the ‘playing outside with snow’ pink flush to your cheeks.
All products last very well on the face, but the Rimmel lip colour does fade a bit while eating.
Downside: The Rimmel Provocalips 16hr Kissproof Lip Colour was drying and a bit transparent with one lip application. The Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse is not suitable for dry skin and has SPF 15 which is not ideal for nights out with flash photography.
(Please excuse the product packaging – I was a bit too excited to open them and nearly ruined them for good!)

Swatches from left to right: Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse in ’32 Golden’, Rimmel Provocalips 16hr Kissproof Lip Colour in ‘550 Play With Fire’, and Maybelline Dream Bouncy Blush in ’70 Hot Tamale’.
2 thoughts on “A SMALL & SIMPLE HAUL: SHOCKING PIGMENTATION

Leave a Reply

