Uncategorized

A NEW SMALL HAUL: L’OREAL & MAYBELLINE

You know when you watch a few videos on YouTube and the products some of the makeup artists use, are just calling your name? Or are at least calling you to buy anything from the store? That’s what happened to me a few days ago.

This isn’t an unusual feeling, but usually I can control the urge to buy a ton of products since I am a university student on a budget. This time, however, I thought to myself that I should at least check out the drugstore since I had run out of bronzer and powder.

I approached the L’Oreal counter and looked for a bronzer & highlighter duo that I had seen many times but never thought of buying since it was an expensive product (where I live, drugstore products are almost the price of high end and luxury!). I also bought a Maybelline face setting powder that I used many times before.

The Maybelline Super Stay 24 Hr Waterproof Powder in the colour ‘030 Sand’ was a colour lighter than the powder I usually get. But I thought I would try a lighter shade, for a difference! I’ve always thought the powder was worth the price, because it sets the makeup and helps it last longer. It has a decent amount of coverage as well, and it has a very smooth consistency. I don’t think it is waterproof though.

However, I had never tried the L’Oreal Bronzer & Highlighter Duo in Glam Bronze, number ‘101’. I have heard a few YouTubers talk about this product, but it still wasn’t a very famous product. For its price, I was a bit skeptical. Nevertheless, I decided to also take a chance and purchase it. I am glad I took the risk and purchased it! The bronzer felt very smooth and was pigmented. It also stayed set for a long period of time on the face. This bronzer is also ideal for those with fair or medium skin tones, since I know from experience that it is hard to find a bronzer that isn’t muddy or orange on lighter skin tones. On the other hand, the highlighter felt very powdery and was very shimmery. It wasn’t my favourite type of highlighter, but it still did give a nice glow on the cheeks.

Both products had good packaging, and the Maybelline powder included a sponge while the L’Oreal Bronzer & Highlighter Duo included a brush.

Downside: The highlighter in the L’Oreal Bronzer & Highlighter Duo in Glam Bronze was a bit powdery and a bit too shimmery.

From left to right: L’Oreal Bronzer & Highlighter Duo in Glam Bronze in number 101, and the Maybelline Super Stay 24 Hr Waterproof Powder in ‘030 Sand’.
7 thoughts on “A NEW SMALL HAUL: L’OREAL & MAYBELLINE

  1. I thought I was the only one who feels that way when watching a YouTube video haha. I’m still looking for a highlighter that’s not shimmery, I want a matte finish, let at me know if you have any suggestions xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

