Uncategorized

20 THINGS I’VE LEARNT ABOUT LEBANON SINCE I MOVED: PART 2

Flag_of_Lebanon.svg

Hey everyone!

I hope you’re all having a lovely day/night.

Last year in June, I posted the first part of this post. I thought I’d share with you all my experiences of Lebanon, since I’ve been here, and what I’ve learnt.

  1. When you go out for lunch, you’ll most probably end up staying an extra 30 minutes just to decide who’s gonna pay the check.
  2. Speaking of time, some Lebanese people say they need five minutes, when in reality they need 20+ minutes.
  3. When they tell you “they left the house and are on their way”, they really are still at home getting dressed.
  4. When we hear some famous person is part Lebanese or likes Lebanese food or anything Lebanese, we become 120% proud of being Lebanese even though we were cursing Lebanon a few seconds ago.
  5. Speaking of curse words, there are many curse words that also sound like sexual words.
  6. Some men can’t get married if they don’t have a house ready.
  7. Some women swear their blonde hair is real, even though they’ve probably paid every pay check for their hairdressers and hair dyes.
  8. You can literally drive all around Lebanon in one day.
  9. Even though there’s a huge variety of places to go, there still aren’t enough places.
  10. Religious events are always spent with families. The more families, the better.
  11. If you own an iPhone, you’re suddenly rich.
  12. Some women have nearly every Turkish episode memorised.
  13. Speaking of Turkish episodes, there was a phase once where many wives decided to divorce their husbands because the husbands weren’t ‘Muhannad’. FYI, Muhannad was this very handsome and romantic male character (according to opinions).
  14. Some Lebanese people still don’t understand that there are homosexuals and bisexuals out there.
  15. “Why would anyone want to travel away from Lebanon?”, they ask.
  16. Having said that, “why wouldn’t you want to get away from Lebanon?”
  17. Traffic is literally everywhere, for no apparent reason. The cars suddenly disappear after a while.
  18. Nearly every guy’s name is either Mohamad or Elie.
  19. You have to be part of a political party. Even if you swear you aren’t, no one would believe you.
  20. Some women get plastic surgery everywhere. Everywhere.

I know that there a bunch more things I’ve learnt about Lebanon since moving, but these are just a few I thought I’d share!

—-> Please notice I have said ‘some Lebanese people’, because not every family is the same, and not every person acts the same. This was also written without offence intended to anyone.

Let me know what you guys think in the comments!

Don’t forget to follow me on Instagram (here and here) & Twitter.

NEW POSTS EVERY WEDNESDAY AT 19:30 GMT+3

Until next time,

Screen Shot 2016-04-09 at 2.45.59 pm

 

2 thoughts on “20 THINGS I’VE LEARNT ABOUT LEBANON SINCE I MOVED: PART 2

  1. Omg I love this post! I made a similar one. This list is dead on point hahaha, my favorite is paying the bill and saying your on your way, but you’re actually still at home. I’m guilty of doing that hahaha

    Like

Leave a Reply

