australian · australian blogger · beauty · blog · summer · Uncategorized

GOMO, THE NEW FOMO?

 

EB-GOMO

Hey everyone!

I hope you’re all having a lovely day/night.

I bet some of you, if not all of you, are wondering what the heck ‘FOMO’ & ‘GOMO’ stand for. Well, FOMO basically stands for “fear of missing out”. Google says that it is “anxiety that an exciting or interesting event may currently be happening elsewhere, often aroused by posts seen on a social media website.” While, GOMO stands for “going out more often”.

So, instead of staying at home, binge watching series after series with tubs of popcorn near you, seeing posts after posts on Instagram and Facebook of your friends going out, you can finally remove the concept of FOMO, and add GOMO instead.

This year, this summer, is where it’s all about. It’s all about you. You, creating new experiences, finding new things to do, and just having a bunch of fun. As I said in my previous post about my plans for summer, I wanna focus on myself and do new things I haven’t done before.

2016 is a new year, a new summer, and here are some fun things you can do instead of FOMO-ing:

  1. Concerts: One of the easiest things to find is an exciting concert to go to. Get a bunch of your friends, find an interesting concert go to, and you’ll have a blast. Trust me, I LOVE going to concerts!
  2. Sightseeing: Whether it’s stargazing at night with your partner, checking out touristic places in your own hometown, or simply driving around and looking at the beautiful landscape and architecture around, sightseeing really is diverse and interesting.
  3. Picnics: Decide on a place with a bunch of your friends, take your picnic baskets, and don’t forget to have a blast.

I’m sure there are tons of other things to do this summer that don’t include any form of FOMO! Let me know in the comments down below what you’re thinking of doing this summer.

Before you go, don’t forget to check out Eventbrite’s event planning page where you can create amazing events, and even include some of your summer plans!

collage_

Don’t forget to follow me on Instagram (here and here) & Twitter.

NEW POSTS EVERY WEDNESDAY AT 19:30 GMT+3

Until next time,

Screen Shot 2016-04-09 at 2.45.59 pm

 

27 thoughts on “GOMO, THE NEW FOMO?

      1. Let’s see snorkeling, I’d like to go to a few conventions, and go to a recording studio. I appreciate you asking Kinda made me have to think about it for a second. My pleasure Its a great idea. Ttys xoxo

        Like

  1. I agree, it’s so much better to get out of the house and do things! I always love going to festivals in summer. Is there anything better than a whole day spend with friends and awesome music? 🙂

    Like

      1. Summers are over ! It’s monsoons here in India atm. Ima chill with some coffee lol 😉 jk,ha well I did nothing this summer.

        Like

      2. Well, maybe you could try to start planning from now what you would like to do next summer? It really helps sometimes if you jot it down on a paper, or start to research about the things you wanna do 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I had plan this summer,it didn’t work out so I’ll be doing things I was supposed to this summer next summer. Am a big time procrastinator about all things except my blog 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

