australian · australian blogger · beauty · blog · series · Uncategorized

TO READ OR NOT TO READ: MAN’S SEARCH FOR MEANING

DSC_0137

Hey everyone!

I hope you’re all having a lovely day/night.

Today I’m writing up a quick post for this series of “To Read or not to Read”, of one of my favourite books. I thought I’d share my thoughts with you guys and review it, incase any of you are interested.

The book is written by a doctor, more specifically a psychiatrist, who writes about true stories of his patients’ experiences and traumas. It all occurs in 1946 in the Auschwitz concentration camp.

Goodreads says, “Psychiatrist Viktor Frankl’s memoir has riveted generations of readers with its descriptions of life in Nazi death camps and its lessons for spiritual survival. Between 1942 and 1945, Frankl labored in four different camps, including Auschwitz, while his parents, brother, and pregnant wife perished. Based on his own experience and the experiences of others he treated later in his practice, Frankl argues that we cannot avoid suffering, but we can choose how to cope with it, find meaning in it, and move forward with renewed purpose. Frankl’s theory–known as logotherapy, from the Greek word logos (“meaning”)–holds that our primary drive in life is not pleasure, as Freud maintained, but the discovery and pursuit of what we personally find meaningful.

I fell in love with this book, just by reading what it’s about! As I started to read it, I felt that it really did have a lot of symbolic meaning and relation to people’s experiences, as of now. It was also quite sad to read every detail about their shocking lives.

So, what are you guys waiting for? I say buy this book and read it! It would be a great book to read while sunbathing ;).

Have you ever read this book? If you have, tell me what you guys thought of it!

Stay on the lookout, next week’s post is going to be my June Favourites (I haven’t done a favourites in months, so I’m quite excited!).

collage_

Don’t forget to follow me on Instagram (here and here) & Twitter.

NEW POSTS EVERY WEDNESDAY AT 19:30 GMT+3

Until next time,

Screen Shot 2016-04-09 at 2.45.59 pm

8 thoughts on “TO READ OR NOT TO READ: MAN’S SEARCH FOR MEANING

  1. This is a really good book (and very sad), Frankl had a great insight into the human mind. Looking forward to reading more of your reviews on other books 🙂

    Like

    1. Yes i found it sad while reading because of what happened to people :/. Its still a great book, one of my faves! Thank you! Im looking forward to reading many of your posts on your blog, just followed you. 🙂 have a lovely day xo

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

